More Rain, more pain, more velobase.com

Texas received the wettest May in recent memory, and if I cared to look, probably on record.  Something like 23 days of 30 were wet that month.  Then the weather guys proclaimed that there was no more rain in the future for a while.  Apparently ‘a while’ is like 3 days.  And so it’s gone on that about ever 3 days of dry weather we have 4-5 of wet.  At least of high humidity, threatening to rain any minute if not actually raining weather.  Tomorrow, rain or shine, I am going to Tour de Italia.  I’m going to ride.  And hopefully keep the rubber side down.

I’m not sure what I did to my back last weekend.  But it still hasn’t completely healed.  And as I said, I’m riding tomorrow morning.  I have a feeling me and Vitamin I (aka Ibuprofen) are going to be good friends over the next 48 hrs.  I’m tired of not riding due to one thing or another.  Starting a full time job here at work now my week-day ride times have more or less come to an end so when the weekend rolls around – I will ride.  Period.

Short blurb on VeloBase.com.  It is now displaying a temporary page with some sample images and such.  I hope to work on the user account system this weekend and get that working within the week.  At least allow me to manually add users and let them log-in to the system.  From there the plan is to add the ‘Add Component’ page so that we can start building the database.  There will be a lot of consideration going into how to handle editing, adding, and ensuring that duplicate entries are not created. 

Right now the plan is to start with a general add page where you put in basic information about the part.  Brand, model, year, and a few other things.  The system will then search for anything similar already in the database and return a list of possible matches.  If you realize that the part is already in the system you can either Add, Edit (if you have permissions), or create a Variation of the part.  Suppose you want to add the Campagnolo Nuovo Record crank – of which there were at least a couple variations.  You have a version that is different enough from any of those listed that you add a variation.  The ‘Base’ Nuovo Record crank information is copied over to a ‘Add Variation’ page where you can modify any of the information needed to enter this new version.  Should help reduce or hopefully eliminate duplicate entries and keep the database as effective and useful as possible.

If you are interested in helping build the VeloBase.com database once functional, please leave a comment to such effect and I will get back to you when ready. 

Comments are closed.